BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Billng per finished minute

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Vedran Mehic
Billng per finished minute
on Aug 16, 2010 at 11:56:13 am

Hi guys,
could someone please help me with this:
I should do freelance video editing for some tv show, and costumer asks what will be the price "per finished minute of final editing"...
I should get raw camera material, music and intro-outro of the show.
Now i'm new at freelancing, and i would like to know what is usual price for "billng per finished minute", for this kind of work?

Thanx, and sorry for bad english :)

Return to posts index

Mark Suszko
Re: Billng per finished minute
on Aug 16, 2010 at 12:53:22 pm

Per finished minute is a bad way to estimate for billing. Bill hourly or by the day, and estimate the number of hours the job will take.

Per-minute rates are usually a guess, and can be either too low to recover your costs, or so high they scare customers away. Rarely are they right on target, in my experience, and usually that is by chance. Per finished minute was easier to compute back in the 1980's when the equipment and technology was very limited. Today, there are just too many factors to influence costs and time. An editing suite that cost a half million dollars in the 1980's is today bested by a PC that costs 5 grand, running sub-$1,000 software.