BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

As I prepare for the job market...

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
David SikesAs I prepare for the job market...
by on Jul 27, 2010 at 9:36:37 pm

Hello! I hope this is the correct forum for this sort of post.

I'm a student at the University of Alabama in media production. As I continue my education and further my work experience, I'm a couple of years away from hitting the door and trying to get a job.

For those of you who are more experienced, far wiser and can see the "big picture", how would you recommend I prepare myself for the production world? Should I risk more and aim high while I'm younger, or stick to where it's comfortable? Are there any trends in the production job world I need to be aware of?

Through a great job I've held on campus, learning from a very talented editor, I've gained strong post skills, but not quite as much in shooting, lighting, and sound. Should I focus on my weaker areas or focus on my strengths?

Any feedback is appreciated. I am grateful for the Cow and all those who continue to lend a hand!

- David Sikes

Return to posts index

Steve MartinRe: As I prepare for the job market...
by on Jul 28, 2010 at 1:33:49 am

Hi David,

First of all, how refreshing to hear from a college student who actually admits that he has a lot to learn. When I was in college I was one of those idiots who though he knew it all :)

You are likely to get a lot of feedback from different folks coming from different perspectives. Soak it all in and figure out what applies to you. In no particular order, here are few thoughts from a guy who does corporate production: