BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

How much to Charge for RAW VIDEO

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Rick Connolly
How much to Charge for RAW VIDEO
on Jun 9, 2010 at 9:15:52 pm

Can someone please help me out on this....a new area for me.

I shot some video, basically interviewing the main actors in a stage production, and the write and producer. I used a local TV personality to do the interview.

Nothing special about it, just average stuff of general interest, talking about their stage prodution, their roles, inspiration etc.

Another production company (who I believe is involved with promoting the production) is wanting to purchase our one hour raw footage to create their own promotion.

They have asked me to give them a price.

I have never done this before so I have no idea what I should ask.

I would greatly apprciate any guidance along with any suggestions on sign off when I do hand it over.

Thanks again....you guys are alwasy so helpful.

Return to posts index

Mark Suszko
Re: How much to Charge for RAW VIDEO
on Jun 9, 2010 at 9:26:32 pm

Are you sure you own the video and it's free to you to do with as you like? This is not always true.

Return to posts index

Rick Connolly
on Jun 9, 2010 at 9:42:36 pm

Absolutely....it is 100% our production with no distribution restrictions.

Return to posts index

Mike Smith
on Jun 10, 2010 at 8:50:59 am

A bit less than it would cost them to redo it themselves ....

Return to posts index

Mark Suszko
on Jun 10, 2010 at 2:22:05 pm

A little snarky, but nevertheless he's mostly right about that.

Return to posts index

Rick Connolly
on Jun 10, 2010 at 7:22:44 pm

Thanks,

I've got some calls back from my pals in the biz finally and they gave me some info too....seems that they charge by the second or frames.