BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Average salary for AE artist

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Bill Paterno
Average salary for AE artist
on Jun 9, 2010 at 4:29:34 pm

I am sure this has been asked before but I am curious as I am contemplating a job offer. I am currently working as a freelance AE artist for the same company that wants to hire me on staff. The company, a large advertising agency, is located in Philadelphia and the bulk of their work is with large corporations. The work itself isn't the most exciting but they like what i have done so far and they are exceptionally busy...so they are looking to add another staff AE person asap.

I have been enjoying freelancing for the past 3 months. Before then, I was on staff at a production house. Obviously the pay is better freelancing but with a family, I would like to move back to a position where I have benefits.

So, can anyone chime in with at least a range? Forgot to mention that I am 32 with 10 years experience.

Thanks!

Return to posts index

Jason Jenkins
Re: Average salary for AE artist
on Jun 9, 2010 at 5:47:58 pm

The bottom line is; you're worth whatever you can get them to pay you. So, you might as well aim high. Negotiate downwards if you have to but have a minimum in mind. If they won't pay what you want, try to get more benefits to sweeten the deal. I wouldn't sell myself to anybody full time for less than $80k w/benefits. But that's me.

Jason Jenkins

Flowmotion Media

Video production... with style!

Return to posts index

Emre Tufekci S.O.A.
on Jun 9, 2010 at 6:32:06 pm