BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

An interesting business opportunity

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Amy RaeAn interesting business opportunity
by on May 3, 2010 at 12:48:24 am

Hi everyone,
I'd like some opinions on a unique situation. I'm an editor at a small post house and am a salaried employee. The other night I was having drinks with a close family friend who works in academia. She got to talking about researching methods of showing stereoscopic 3D to wide audiences to see if the 3D experience might render better data from her test subjects. Since I've been looking into 3D tech from a production standpoint, I threw out some ideas, one thing led to another, and she asked if I wanted to help with her research as a paid consultant.
Here's my dilemma: I can be a decent consultant for her on my own time from home, but I'd be a far better consultant if I had the resources of my company's editing gear at my fingertips (testing compression schemes, new software, gear, etc.). Using my company's gear on the side for my own personal gain is simply not an option I'm willing to entertain, so what would you folks do?

A. Bring this "client" to my company, use company time and resources to solve her problems and get a huge pat on the back from management for bringing in new work, but no additional cash in my pocket. (I'm fairly compensated, and management at my company is good people, by the way.)

B. Freelance consult on my own time to make my own cash, but not do as much as I think I could for my friend.

C. Try to negotiate with management for a high commission on this project since I would be the sole contact to the "client," and the only employee involved in the project.

Is there a better option I haven't thought of? I'm interested in hearing from business owners as well as employees.

Return to posts index