BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Major/Minor Questions

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Hunter HempenMajor/Minor Questions
by on Apr 7, 2010 at 3:24:03 am

I am currently a freshman in college, vigorously studying and expanding my After Effects knowledge and reaching out to various news stations, etc, for the sake of networking. My current major title is Mass Communications: TV/Film...I have come to the point where I've begun to ponder about my minor. What's usually a good minor for a film editor (the position I'm hoping to find in the near future)? None? Business? Or should I be double majoring? Or can college simply not teach these things? :) The latter, I am sure, but tell me what you think.
Hunter Hempen

Return to posts index

Timothy J. AllenRe: Major/Minor Questions
by on Apr 7, 2010 at 4:12:56 am

The minor that will serve you as a film editor might not be the same one to serve you best in the near term at a news station. You really can't go wrong with minoring in business. That's a field of knowledge that many creative professionals wish they had time to go back and study. It could make a world of difference in how much money you eventually make - and it will force you to get out early and do some of the other things that we all eventually end up having to do in the "real-world" such as make presentations, negotiate salaries and draw up contracts.

That said, when I hire an Editor, I usually look for someone who has a well-rounded liberal arts background. English, history, geography, psychology, sociology, engineering, music, science and yes, even (maybe especially) philosophy.

The best Editors and Graphic Artists are like the best musicians; they draw upon a wealth of experiences to create stories that speak with their own unique voice.