BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

breaking in to local commercials

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jensen Yanceybreaking in to local commercials
by on Mar 26, 2010 at 8:34:06 pm

right now I'm a student at Texas A&M hoping to get in to some kind of video production when I graduate, and one thing I've noticed since I've lived in College station is that the local commercials are TERRIBLE, I know for a fact that I can make a better product than what most of these businesses are putting on the air but I have no idea how I would actually start. I've got a portfolio of a few commercials that I've done for online contests, but does anyone have advice on how to get work, how to price commercials, and how to look more like a real business and not some college kid with a camera? thanks!

Return to posts index

Mike CohenRe: breaking in to local commercials
by on Mar 26, 2010 at 8:57:33 pm

Great to see that you are taking some initiative as a student to find out how to have a career when you get your degree. This is certainly a good place to learn.

First, check out the enhanced COW search

type local commercial or commercial or whatever and you might find some threads that have discussed this issue already.

It is common knowledge among video folks, especially video folks who want in on the local commercial market, that local cable commercials are not very lucrative. They tend to be included with the local cable advertising rates, thus not much effort or expense is put into them. Occasionally you see a local commercial that actually has some production value, but local businesses want customers immediately - they are not very interested in showing you how classy they are with a classy commercial. And most do not want to pay much more than they pay currently, which is not much.

Sounds quite cynical, doesn't it?