BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

What do you do if a paid actor doesn't show up?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
John DeMaio
on Mar 18, 2010 at 7:12:55 pm

First off, I'm not sure if this is the right forum for this but it was the only one that made sense. My apologies if this should be posted elsewhere.

I am a producer/director out of Orlando and our company does broadcast, corporate video and commercials. I have been doing this for 14 years and so far nothing like what I'm about to explain has ever happened to me or to anyone else that I know.

Lately, we have been doing commercials that require several actors. Not much to complain about. The actors show up, they do what they're hired to do and we produce some good looking spots. I had a commercial production this week - Tuesday was the location day and Wednesday was the studio day. Tuesday went off without a hitch. Then I get a call late in the evening on Tuesday (after my shoot) about Wednesday's studio day. The call was from my casting agent saying that she received a voice mail message at 5:30pm from my female talent for Wednesday. The female talent explained that she was in the hospital and she "might" not make it to the shoot. After several attempts to try to contact the female talent there was nothing more to find out and she wasn't returning our calls. It is an unfortunate turn of events but there was nothing to do - so I decided to postpone the shoot day and pray that my other actor and my crew would go easy on me considering it was such a quick turnaround on the cancellation. (They were great about it, by the way.)