BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Career path direction

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
John CanimottiCareer path direction
by on Feb 24, 2010 at 3:19:05 pm

I graduated from Drexel University in the spring of 2004 with a BS in Business Administration/Marketing. I found out, very near the time of my graduation, that I loved video editing/film production, and have devoted thousands of hours since then in reading/watching tutorials (yours are God-sent)/practicing.

I have acquired a decent amount of equipment in the meantime, and feel that I have more than enough to start my small business, but now I'm finding that due to my lack of credibility, as far as formal or traditional study are concerned, I'm having a very hard time getting work.

I have decided to go back to school in the fall (in San Francisco, with the option of moving to LA not out of the question). I'm really uncertain about basically everything after that.

My question is this:
I'll be able to gather the funding necessary, but I was wondering if you had advice to consider, as far as which road to travel to effectively gain a career job in the field (or possibly, but not preferably, become self employed with credibility), as a video editor, or possibly a producer, or some position in that general area? I'm very open minded, as I enjoy basically every aspect of film production.

I am unsure about my choices of possibly incorporating my previous degree, as well. Is there a path that would allow for it's integration in my pursuit of a video production career, or even possibly a field I could choose to qualify for a masters program instead of starting from scratch? Again, my major was Business Administration, focusing on Marketing.