BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Question for people using FCP in career.

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Mike NaxQuestion for people using FCP in career.
by on Feb 2, 2010 at 1:23:09 am

How much knowledge is enough before you can advertise yourself as
a video editor?

Must I have a certification or Art Degree.

As for myself I'm studying video production, I've learned mostly from working on personal projects and the Apple certification book.

Return to posts index

Emre Tufekci S.O.A.Re: Question for people using FCP in career.
by on Feb 2, 2010 at 3:07:48 pm

The answer is relative:

-When you feel that you can walk into a edit session with a client you have never met before and you feel absolutely confident you will come through technically and visually....no matter what.

(Yes, experience is something you get right after when you could have used the most...catch 22...but you got to start somewhere)

Degrees are not relevant as much as experience is (IMHO), I would not discriminate against a candidate if he had no formal training but was a natural.

You have to understand the technology and what goes on under the hood. If the machine fails you need to know how to fix it. If you run into a problem and you can't go any further because you don't know what to so, it doesn't matter if you are the best editor in the world.

You have to establish the fine balance between being a video engineer and an artist. Practice, practice, practice... watch a lot of movies, dissect TV shows. Adapt the styles you like and advance them to make them your own. Most creative people I have met, hired or learned from had absolutely no formal training.

We are not doctors, we don’t require "certification" to do work. You just need to be really good at what you do.