BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Non-union Hourly Rates

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Josh DayNon-union Hourly Rates
by on Jan 31, 2010 at 11:53:15 pm

I am a non-union editor in NYC and I have just been hired to edit a spec commercial for a major retail company. The producer is putting together a estimated budget and has asked me what my hourly rate is. As I am just starting out, I am not sure what the going hourly rates are for non-union jobs. If anyone could give me an idea of what current non-union pay scales look like, I\'d very much appreciate it.

Return to posts index

grinner hesterRe: Non-union Hourly Rates
by on Feb 1, 2010 at 4:22:12 am

There isn't one. While most freelancers in your area charge 60-80 an hour, it sounds like you may wanna go much lower until you get some milage under your belt.

Return to posts index

Roy SchneiderRe: Non-union Hourly Rates
by on Feb 3, 2010 at 4:50:00 pm

NYC is a large market with rates up and down the board. An experienced editor generally gets between $50 and $80 dollars an hours with OT after 10. That being said there is a lot of editing and a lot of editors out there and good people are working for $35 and $40 dollars an hour to feed there families.

For a spec spot and a young editor I would stay on the $35 to $40 using there system and $50 to $70 with your system. Also talk with the producer and come up with a rate you are both comfortable with.

DON'T give away the house! You may eventually need a place to stay!
Good Luck

Roy Schneider
Long Live Da Cow!

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: Non-union Hourly Rates
by on Feb 4, 2010 at 7:23:05 pm