BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Best approach to approaching a perspective employer

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Roy SchneiderBest approach to approaching a perspective employer
by on Jan 18, 2010 at 1:50:47 am

Hi All:
I hope you are all enjoying a happy new year.

After 10 years of a really good gig with great earning potential, a new contract has cut into my paycheck considerably. I find myself looking for supplemental work doing evening or weekend shifts. I have not doe this in a while and am just starting to put together a list of potential employers. As employers, how do you prefer to be approached by well qualified freelancers?

I am looking for the best way to get your ear without irritating you! Love to here your thoughts.

By the way, I am a highly experienced editor/preditor with both long and short form expertise in the NYC area (just incase).

Thanks for the input

Roy Schneider
Long Live Da Cow!

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: Best approach to approaching a perspective employer
by on Jan 18, 2010 at 6:55:28 am

(That's prospective, as in a prospect, btw.)

I think from previous iterations of this topic the consensus was that a personal visit with a killer reel was the thing, once you pre-qualified the prospective employer. A lot of email spamming won't do it. Random phoning won't do it. This is a business of relationships, so any time you can get someone you've worked with before to introduce you to someone new, it carries more weight than you might think.