BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

freelance or corporation

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
johnsabbath d'urzo
freelance or corporation
on Dec 20, 2009 at 4:58:07 pm

I have been an editor for 12 years for the first 6 years I was a freelancer and for the last 6 I operated my own company as a post production house. Now I'm finding with todays economic times I did not have many contracts at my own studio so I'm looking to freelance at other studios to make up for the lack of work on my end. Just wondering how would I represent myself? I am applying to places that I used to consider my competition but I don't think they know me. There was an add placed on the net for a 3-4 month contract to work in there studio. Do I apply through my corporation email address or my personal address? I have a company website with samples and a personal website with samples. What should I use or do I use both? The company that I am applying to needs me to send them a cv and online reel tomorrow. What would be the best way for me to represent myself? how do you guys do it? I don't know if I apply as a company if that would scare them off or not or maybe this would be a standard thing in our line of work. At the end I will bill through my corporation anyways so, do you have any advice for me?

thanks for your help in advanced.

Return to posts index

Fernando Mol
Re: freelance or corporation
on Dec 20, 2009 at 5:28:29 pm

Be honest.

*Always share a link to your site and rate the posts. This is a free service for you and for us.

Return to posts index

Emre Tufekci S.O.A.
on Dec 20, 2009 at 7:21:26 pm

Actually presenting yourself as having owned and operated a company (in my book) would be a plus. I get a lot of freelance work outside my company and I always send them my direct company links as reference/demo reels/contact info.