BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Cost Breakdowns

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Christopher HillCost Breakdowns
by on Oct 3, 2009 at 5:54:41 pm

I'm very new to the world of Freelance, and fairly new in general to a lot of post-production elements (read: Novice) except for Editing (which I'm fairly well versed in). I was curious if there is a resource out in cyberspace or if you fellow COW's have any advice on determining what to charge for various tasks. I realize that there's no real set-standard, but a place to start would help.

Should one charge by the hour? Should I set a specific price for different tasks? Does one estimate how many hours the overall job would take and charge a fee based around that?

Specifically, I'm curious about prices for Editing footage (I haven't done freelance, I'm currently an in-house editor for a production company), Rotoscoping, Keying/Greenscreen, Footage cleanup and Line-Removal.

Again, any help or constructive responses will be appreciated.

Return to posts index

Christopher HillRe: Cost Breakdowns
by on Oct 3, 2009 at 5:58:12 pm

Embarrassingly, I just realized I may have asked this in the wrong forum... if I did, my apologies. If that's the case, could you redirect me to the proper forum? Thanks

Return to posts index

Fred JodryRe: Cost Breakdowns
by on Oct 14, 2009 at 1:35:02 pm