BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Shooting a pilot: need advice

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Mandy MastromanicoShooting a pilot: need advice
by on Oct 6, 2009 at 7:31:31 pm

Hi Friends,

I am new to all this, so first of all - please excuse my lack of knowledge in this field. In answering, please assume that I don't know much about any of this and kindly refrain from talking over my head. :o)

That said - I have been asked by a large corporation to look into how much it would cost to shoot a reality TV show pilot. The clients are in the Far East, and I am their only connection to the US therefore they are coming to me. I have no prior experience in this field.

Can anyone give me an idea of how much it would cost to shoot a pilot for a reality TV show such as Anthony Bourdain's "No Reservations" or "Bizarre Foods". The subject matter in this case, is not food, but would require shooting here in the US as well as overseas.

Also, when production companies give me estimates for such a thing, should I assume they are shooting in HD? Is it necessary to shoot in HD? Does it add to the cost?

Thanks you for any insight you may have to share.

Best,

Mandy

Return to posts index

cowcowcowcowcow
Chris BlairRe: Shooting a pilot: need advice
by on Oct 6, 2009 at 11:21:21 pm

That's a tough question to pin down to more than a just a broad range without more specific and detailed information.

A half-hour network quality program can be produced for anywhere from $35,000 (extremely low) to $250,000 (or higher) per episode depending on a whole host of factors.

You also say "shoot a reality show." I'm assuming you mean shoot it, edit it, create a graphic look, script intros, bumps, teasers (the things you see coming back from a break and going into a break or transitioning etc.)