BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

motion graphics/editor career path

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Steve Renardmotion graphics/editor career path
by on Oct 2, 2009 at 7:22:18 pm

Hi all - I'm a mid-senior level editor and motion designer in the Toronto area. I'm 30, and I've done work on a few TV spots and lots of corporate video, and after being laid off about six months ago started a freelance business that is starting to keep me pretty busy. For the short term (next 5 years or so), my career path is fairly clear, I think - keep working on the freelance business, work on bigger and better projects, and, as Nick Campbell of grescalegorilla says, "Make cool shit."

What's not clear to me, and what I'm hoping folks on the forum might offer their thoughts on, is where I could or should be looking to go in the next ten years or so. Almost all of my work is done at some production houses or similar places, where I am one of very few editors (if not the only editor they work with). Of the few folks I do run into, most are within five years of my age one way or the other, but I don't see many people in the 35-45 range doing what I do, and I don't know of any who USED to do what I do, but now have taken on a role with more responsibility or a different sort of task, or what have you. I realize that to a certain degree this has to do with digital video being a relatively new medium, and there simply aren't that many people who've been working on this stuff for more than the last 15 years or so, so my pool of potential advisers is fairly limited. Therefore, this post - hoping I can find some folks in the broader world to offer their thoughts.