BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Professional Video Editor

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
James NavarroProfessional Video Editor
by on Sep 30, 2009 at 8:30:18 am

Hello, I am new to Creative Cow but have stumbled upon the website before for FCP tutorials. I have been interested in becoming a professional video editor, but have not taken any formal classes to obtain real training. So, I have FC Studio and have been editing videos for people. I can put videos and pictures together okay, but nothing really special. I wish to advance and get better, but classes are limited where I live or very expensive.
I was interested in any kind of advice in pursuing this profession such as what programs to learn, was anybody self taught and what steps did they take, how many years did it take to become a professional, what a typical day for a video editor is like, the jobs that are performed, salary, etc. Any kind of advice and feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time and help!

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: Professional Video Editor
by on Sep 30, 2009 at 3:06:02 pm

James, is your friend; browse their used books and videos. I would suggest if you never got any formal Tv training, pick up a used copy of a college TV textbook, any edition of Zettl is good, I think. Just to build a bit of a foundation, understand. Then move on to editing-specific books. The editing books by Walter Murch are a popular favorite, but by no means the only ones.

The COW has a ton of free tutorial materials and links. You can also find some at Video University as well as the DJTV section of Digitaljuice. These are all free.