BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Preproduction

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
David Zietz
Preproduction
on Sep 23, 2009 at 5:53:22 pm

Hi, I'm brand new in the tv/film industry and was recently hired by a startup production company to develop one of their pilot tv shows. At present, I'm setting up the budget and preproduction plans and I'm looking for some good sources from which I can construct a realistic budget.

I've read through the the threads here regarding rates, so I understand the variability involved, but what I'm not sure about is where to look to get the mean rate around which the variability occurs for a given crew position.

I'd also welcome any and all suggestions, recommendations, caveats, or whatever to help me ensure that I'm on the right track and being as thorough as possible. I'm reminded of a statement I read here that "you're crazy if you think you've thought of everything," so I'm sure I can use as much input as I can get.

Thanks in advance, all :)

David

Return to posts index

Mike Cohen
Re: Preproduction
on Sep 23, 2009 at 6:46:02 pm

David,

Congratulations on your new responsibility. It can be exciting and challenging. You just need to know what you are getting into, especially with a tv pilot project. There are a lot of people with grand ideas, but who have not thought everything through. Always look at the big picture.

In any budget, you need to get estimates or quotes for prices. Budget for known rates plus some leeway for the unknowns. And as others on this board have said, along with our former SecDef, there are the known knows, the known unknowns and also the unknown unknowns.