BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Intellectual Rights

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Javier SaldivarIntellectual Rights
by on Sep 16, 2009 at 3:04:23 am

I am a digital animator/filmmaker. I was hired to make a fully animated commercial for a company. I conceptualized, designed and modeled all the characters visible on the commercial. I was already paid and I delivered the finished piece to the client.

The client really liked the characters I designed for the commercial so mow they want to use these characters for marketing purposes (printed materials, website, etc) and also to represent their brand.

So the question I have is: should I be compensated for the use of these characters outside the commercial I was hired to make?

Any suggestions will be appreciated.

Thank you!

Return to posts index

Arnie SchlisselRe: Intellectual Rights
by on Sep 16, 2009 at 3:26:24 am

What does your original contract say? There's often a clause about this saying who owns logos, characters and other graphic elements developed for the project.

Post production is not an afterthought!

Return to posts index

Javier SaldivarRe: Intellectual Rights
by on Sep 16, 2009 at 3:58:38 am

There is no contract.

Return to posts index

Timothy J. AllenRe: Intellectual Rights
by on Sep 16, 2009 at 9:48:52 pm

It's complicated. You may own the character concept, but not the tangible expression of them. You may own the expression of them, but not the character concept. It greatly depends on what you were actually hired to do and what you gave them as part of the agreement. Even with no contract, there has to be some verbal contract.

Do you have email threads that speak to the roles and responsibilities of each party in the agreement?