BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

salary pricing for off continent work

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Marie Dennissalary pricing for off continent work
by on Aug 8, 2009 at 5:17:09 pm

Hello oh wise ones,

I have a unique opportunity coming up and it is a huge leap forward in my career. I am new to being freelance, and the position being offered isn't exactly a freelance position. I was asked to name my salary and we would negotiate. Which of course means I have to ask for more than what I want, and I have never negotiated a salary before. Currently I work for a University and literally fell into a video production position on a low level admin salary, which I have been doing for 3+ years, plus side projects. My biggest project was a documentary I shot in Antarctica last Nov-Feb. Great fun and I filmed in -30F temps with 30 knot winds, woo hoo!! I loved every second of it! Anyway, that experience is what is landing me this new position. Here are the general responsibilities of the new job. The new job is not associated with the University.

I will report to the VP of the company and show him progress once a week, probably in the editing booth. The company is building a city in Africa, providing affordable housing for locals, teaching them trades associated with building the city, how to be green, and I will be using and training some locals as well. I will have complete overall responsibility for:

3-5 camera crews filming, editing, scripting, sound for 2000+ 3-5 minuet training and safety videos

a 1-2 hour documentary on the building of a new city

plus 15-20 self contained time lapse stations and their production to a video

I will be doing all the equipment buying (w/their money). I am thinking of going with Red for the documentary portion (any thoughts on that?)