BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

What do guys like me get paid?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Stephen Maples
What do guys like me get paid?
on Aug 8, 2009 at 2:54:52 am

Forgive me being new here. I've gone over some of the recent threads here and don't feel they quite match up with my situation. I'm about to be offered a salary position with a major corporation I've been doing temp work for. They're paying me peanuts right now, but I was glad to accept it at the time last year with freelance work dropping so much. Right now I get paid hourly at $13.70. I'm located in east tennessee, so wages aren't what they would be in New York or LA.

I have a two-year technical degree in video production, over 4 years freelancing (mostly below-the-line), and over a year running the show at my current position. I do all the research, writing, production management, shooting/directing, lighting, editing, graphical work and anything else that's needed of me and am very competent in all but the writing and graphics/effects. I have enough experience to trouble-shoot any problem on mac or PC, and have the talent to put all these cogs together.

Currently I do only a portion of the company's videos. They still hire outside vendors foe some of the larger projects that require several true talents but want to start using me more and more. The company has a co
petitive salaries ethics policy to pay their employees what they normally get at other companies. Trouble is, I don't know what others in my position with my talent and experience get.

Return to posts index

Franklin McMahon
Re: What do guys like me get paid?
on Aug 8, 2009 at 2:01:43 pm