BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Advancing your career

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Chris Raines
Advancing your career
on Aug 5, 2009 at 7:28:58 pm

So I've been an editor in news for 5 years since I graduated college, first as the overnight editor at my last market, and now as the Chief Editor at my current market. My question is, how does one make the move from "News" to "Non-News" I love editing and I want to specialize in it, but I don't have anything "sexy" or "hot" to put on a reel, as I've been editing news video for 5 years. Any tips on breaking into a freelance or full-time gig?

Return to posts index

grinner hester
Re: Advancing your career
on Aug 6, 2009 at 3:39:08 pm

short answer... move.
I moved my family to five states in as many years at one point, just ladder-climbing. When you outgrow a market or hit a salary cap, you simply have to progress beyond those limitations.

Return to posts index

John Cummings
on Aug 6, 2009 at 7:00:39 pm

Hey Chris-

As a photographer, I also transitioned from news to freelance production, and all I had in the beginning was a reel of news stories.

The first thing I noticed when first started knocking on doors was that there seemed to be somewhat of a bias or stigma attached to people that come over from news. Especially from people that came from other, more traditional production backgrounds. Ironically, a decade later, I have met and worked with dozens of ex-newsies, many are quite successful and running their own shops with national shows and clients.

A few thoughts:

One, you can use that news reel to show prospective employers, but you need to explain the limitations of the genre and guide them to see your strengths: How well you work under pressure, how you can work fast and cleanly...and most importantly...your willingness to learn and take your skills to the next level.