BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

client not paying - need advice!

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
DeAnna Villalobos
client not paying - need advice!
on Aug 5, 2009 at 5:43:00 am

Hi - I am a freelancer who provides services relating to video,photography & design. This is a fairly new venture for me as a fulltime business and I am learning the ins and outs.

Unfortunately, I am in a bit of a pickle with a "deadbeat" client. I did not get a contract (lesson #1)...

Here's my situation:
(I apologize in advance for the length!)

A few months back (April) I began a project with this client that started off fairly simple. I was to take some tapes she had shot of herself & edit it simply with a little text and a soundtrack & author into an instructional DVD. We agreed on a price and deadline - no problem.

THEN - things started to snowball and the project grew tremendously. I re-shot some footage; designed her DVD Cover, Label, Banner for her site, earth day wallpaper (!!), business cards,... as well as HOURS of additional editing. (tons more text, special effects, graphics)

She paid the initial fee for the original editing within 2 weeks of the start of the project. I would continue to add on each additional project to the list of work done. I would periodically email her the list, what she paid and what she owes.

Her payments gradually became fewer and farther between. I have been very lenient and more than patient with her - and now I see (finally) that she doesn't intend to finish paying up.

Trouble is, the project is 95% finished. She has a latest revision that still needs some good tweaking. She wanted something to show her investors & promised to get another payment in, so I chose to trust her and gave her a disc.