BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Generalize or Specialize?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Michael FolorunshoGeneralize or Specialize?
by on Jul 18, 2009 at 11:27:24 pm

Here is my situation:

I've been freelancing for about 4 years now and I'm looking to take things up a notch. Over the years I've produced all types of video projects from corporate videos, event videography, weddings, music videos etc for large to small business, organizations and individuals.

I continue to get a steady flow of work from all these fields. So i guess my question is, should I market/brand my company as the video company that does it all or should I choose a niche and specialize? OR, should I set up 2 or more companies that each specialize in their given fields?

I imagine that most of you will advise me to specialize, however I don't want to turn away future work from new and existing clients just because I've chosen not to do video work in their field.

What do you guys reckon? Thanks a lot in advance.

Michael Folorunsho
Clicktone Media

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: Generalize or Specialize?
by on Jul 19, 2009 at 1:17:30 am

In a way, you can do both, thanks to the web and new phone technology. You can have an overall blanket production company identity, and subsidiary identities that specialize. You can thus have a biz media division, an event video division, and a documentary division, etc.

This is a great way to keep separate the wedding business from your corporate stuff, for example. Sites that throw both together next to each other chase away business from both, IMO.

From there it is relatively trivial to set up the phones so that the clients filter in thru one of the subs. Sure you still take ALL the calls, but now you take them as the Wedding guy or the Corporate guy, etc. and you look much more professional.