BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Seeking advice on getting paid

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jon Speaks
Seeking advice on getting paid
on Jul 10, 2009 at 5:09:19 am

Hello all,

I am new to the video production business and I must start off by saying that without this site, and all of its valuable info, this business would be WAY over my head, versus the mere three feet it currently looms. Which brings me to my first blunder...

I got a job filming two small plays and committed to editing both, then delivering them on a single DVD. I told the client that I needed 50% up front and 50% upon delivery of the final product. But... I did not get a contract signed, it was only agreed upon through emails. I did this because I'm naive.

So, here I am now, trying to deliver the final product, and they have just informed me that as soon as they receive the DVD (and they only pay on receipt of final product) it will take 3 weeks to process the final check.

I emailed my second invoice on June 24th, so that they will have time to process everything ahead of time, and it is now July 9th.

The remaining balance is for $500 dollars. I need that $500 dollars. How can I go about getting it (while hopefully keeping things fair and positive)?

Please advise

Return to posts index

Steve Wargo
Re: Seeking advice on getting paid
on Jul 10, 2009 at 8:03:12 am

Welcome to the business.

1. Get paid 100% up front.
2. Be such a bad ass that they don't dare make you wait.
3. Take credit cards and get their card number at the agreement stage of the job.
4. repeat of number 2 above.

DO NOT give them the finished product without being paid first.

Steve Wargo
Tempe, Arizona
It's a dry heat!

Sony HDCAM F-900 & HDW-2000/1 deck
5 Final Cut (not quite PRO) systems
Sony HVR-M25 HDV deck
2-Sony EX-1 HD .

Return to posts index

grinner hester
on Jul 10, 2009 at 3:11:56 pm