BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Working for the great cause...

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Michael BrownWorking for the great cause...
by on Jul 9, 2009 at 3:48:37 pm

... and then having to fight for it. This is my first time here at the B&M forum, but since I stumbled over (and thoroughly enjoyed) the great thread "Ultimate sample typical contract for newbies", I thought I'd add my grain of salt for those of us who invest a lot of time on projects that deserve to be seen but do NOT make money! Here's a little story that I'll try to pitch as briefly as possible (ha!), and for you to enjoy, perhaps learn a bit from, perhaps have advice about:

About 4 years ago, in a European country, a wonderfully talented and quite well-known man of the theater tells one of his faithful colleagues and friends, to whom he is like a mentor and spiritual father, that he is irrevocably ill (cancer), will probably not hang in there much longer, and instead of having his biography written, would like 'friend' to make use of the 400 + hours of available archive footage to make a biographical film about his life and work: the theater he created 30 years ago and directed until he passed away last summer, in order to leave it to friends and family as a non-commercial memorial gift (on DVD).