BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

wedding videographer rates

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
bruno silvawedding videographer rates
by on Jun 26, 2009 at 5:21:51 pm

Hey guys,

I am an editor and sort of dabble with shooting. Someone recently asked me to shoot their wedding and edit it down for them. This is my first time doing anything like this but I am wondering what I should charge them? They are cousin's of a friend of mine and asked me what I would charge and what I would deliver.
How can I best answer that, rate and deliver?

Return to posts index

Ron LindeboomRe: wedding videographer rates
by on Jun 26, 2009 at 5:34:31 pm

You are about to step into video's Most Deadly Game.

Expectations are never so high and emotions running so intense as they do on wedding videos.

I have done ONE.

I will never do another.

Why?

Bridezilla.

There is a second reason that wedding videos are best kept to the experts that do them all the time, and that is that just as in TV commercials, musical forms, etc., etc., there is a current popular style that many brides want. You better be able to understand and achieve that style or they will be disappointed. (Translation: you better be prepared to have lots of wedding stock animations, lower thirds, wipes, etc., and add lots of cheese.)

It will be the hardest money you ever make and even working with demanding ad agencies doesn't compare, in my opinion. Hitting the demands of BMW's agency was a cakewalk compared to Bridezilla.

My advice? Leave this one to the experts in the field. I know many good wedding/event video editors who do great work and earn a respectable living from it but they all had to pass through the fire to get there.

Your mileage may vary,

Best regards,

Ron Lindeboom

Creativity is a type of learning process where the teacher and pupil are located in the same individual.