BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Showing work from past employers

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Richard Cooper
Showing work from past employers
on Apr 9, 2009 at 5:33:01 am

Hi All.
Many years since I have posted but I am a regular reader of this wonderful site!
I am a moderately long term professional, 10 plus years working full time as a Producer / DP & Editor. The last 5 years I have spent working with some great people and shooting and editing 100s.... and 100's of short form (1-6 minute) videos for them.
I have recently left the comfort of a paycheck every week and opened my own shop, not to compete with them but to work on some longer form stuff, documentaries, just do something different!... and I had talked with them about doing contract work for them so they could maintain the quality level and only use me when they needed that level of work. All well and good, "we support you 100%..." until after I was out the door, then I was asked to sign a non compete stating that I would not work with any client of theirs, past or present, AND that I would not work with any of their employees for up to two years AFTER they left this company... and if I did not sign, then I was the competition and was effectively on the other side of the table and basically shunned....WTF!!?? What they offered me in return was a meager amount of work that would amount to one small project if I sold it on my own... which I have, But NOT to any clients of theirs.