BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

An ad without a home

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Barrett PhillipsAn ad without a home
by on Apr 1, 2009 at 6:49:28 am

Hi All,

Just like to introduce myself real quick - my name's Barrett and I've been a video/graphic design freelancer for a couple years and recently wanted to see how I could do creating a commercial without first being restricted with a concept. I decided to make a local or regional-type car ad with a pretty generic message (and a space for a logo and possible voiceover) in an effort not to restrict my potential client-base. I am aware that most local dealers tend to like the shouty ads so I knew it wouldn't be the easiest sell, but that's also part of the reason I chose their market, since I figured it might be a contrast of style that someone, somewhere might appreciate, even though it obviously isn't perfect. I drove around to a few dealerships to try and talk to people face to face but either found it difficult to get to chat with the ones in charge, or just being told the message didn't fit with their current marketing scheme (which was fair enough). Over the phone, I found most people I talked to generally didn't take me seriously (wouldn't bother checking the link) or I again couldn't get a hold of the person in charge.

Anyway to get to the point, I just thought I'd show the commercial to you guys in hopes that you might have some ideas for what I could do to get it into the right hands, if of course it's worthy of said hands ;-)

Heck, if anybody found it a home I'd be more than happy to offer a generous affiliate commission percentage were that situation to come about.

Here is the link to "Credit Detector":

On the tech side, the raw cut is in 1080P, exactly 30 seconds, all the logos have been removed and the music is original.