BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

LA editors...hourly or day rate?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Bryan KeithLA editors...hourly or day rate?
by on Mar 31, 2009 at 7:35:36 am

I moved to LA from NYC about 9 months ago. I'm an experienced freelance commercial/promo editor. Just about every single client that I've worked for in LA so far pays hourly rates. Most of my clients have been post houses, not individuals. In New York, every company that I worked with/for ALWAYS paid day rates. Is this typical out here?

One client (established known post house) wanted me to come in and do a job that would only take about two hours (follow up work on a project I had been working on with them). When I mentioned that there is a 4 hour per day minimum they acted like I was crazy!

And on top of that, it seems that hardly anybody pays the equivalent day rate that I was making in NYC. Maybe I'm just working with the wrong clients...but work is pretty slow so I can't be too picky.

I know LA is a competitive market...but NYC is just as competitive.

So, fellow LA editors...is hourly just the way it works out here? Also, if you don't mind, what is your typical hourly/daily rate?

thanks!

Return to posts index

Terence CurrenRe: LA editors...hourly or day rate?
by on Mar 31, 2009 at 2:06:31 pm

Hourly is normal for freelance or short term gigs. 4 hour minimum is standard.

Longer term editing is usually done on daily or weekly rates.

Terence Curren
http://www.alphadogs.tv
http://www.digitalservicestation.com
Burbank,Ca

Return to posts index

Bryan KeithRe: LA editors...hourly or day rate?
by on Mar 31, 2009 at 5:08:20 pm

Thanks for responses so far.