BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Student looking for advice....

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Grant WilberStudent looking for advice....
by on Mar 26, 2009 at 12:07:19 am

Not really sure where to put a post like this. If there is somewhere better or a better website/forum to discuss this let me know. I've always valued the opinion of the people here on CC so I figured I'd ask.

I'm a student at a State College looking to get into video/film in the future. Not looking to be some big famous millionaire director...just do what I love. I'm a junior at the school pursing a degree in Communications (Video/Film), but because of the way the program is set its going to take me almost 2 years to take 5 courses to finish. So I now I'm trying to make the decision to transfer somewhere (like LA/NY) and finish up a bachelor degree there, but be able to find work within the industry to give me some kind of experience instead of being a cashier at walmart for the next 2 years.

I'm in the Boston, MA area but there doesn't seem to be as much work. Just looking for some advice of what people think.

Is it worth transferring to somewhere like LA and trying to find a low level job (I'm expecting to get a 2nd job to help support myself). Or should I just finish up in the school where I am and try to look for opportunities if they come along in this area.

Obviously with the economy it may be harder to make this decision but o well,

Return to posts index

John DavidsonRe: Student looking for advice....
by on Mar 26, 2009 at 7:28:33 am