BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Sticking to rates when you're poor and desperagte

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Alison Grayson
Sticking to rates when you're poor and desperagte
on Mar 17, 2009 at 8:25:37 am

Hey, I'm hoping I might get some insight or advice about this: I'm a young freelancer, but I've been doing it since I graduated two years ago. I have an impressive resume, and I don't need to shoot for cheap for experience. For a year and a half, I had a steady independent contractor gig and really didn't pick up much additional work, and as a result my client bass is lacking. I'm having a huge problem of trying to find clients who are willing to pay even the lowest fair price possible. I'm stuck between being known constantly underselling myself and not having any clients. I'm in a bad financial situation, and I'm worried desperation is going to create a cheap name for myself that will be hard to shake off later.

For example, I have a potential client who wants me to shoot a 3 hour marketing seminar that she will edit into dvd's and attempt to sell. I quoted her a very low $200 for the half day, taking into consideration that there would be minimal set up, it would be an easy shoot, and I'm trying to network within her community. She responded that she only wanted camera on sticks, and couldn't do that amount. She actually asked what the bare minum price would be to compensate me for my time and the camera rental (I own my DVX100B, but thats irrelevant). She won't be able to even rent a camera for a half day in my market for under $300. Do I suck it up, realize I'm poor and need an income and shoot for whatever she'll pay, or do I hold out, avoid falling into this situation on a regular basis, and not be able to pay my bills?

Thanks!

Return to posts index

walter biscardi
Re: Sticking to rates when you're poor and desperagte