BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Freelance in Chicago

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Leon Grant Bussinger
Freelance in Chicago
on Feb 24, 2009 at 5:09:22 am

Hey All!

So I'm new to posting to the forums, I usually find amazing information by just searching through the threads. Forgive me if this post is redundant.

I'm a freelance motion graphics designer, editor, and videographer. Self taught, I've been doing this since April of 08 and have done some pretty big projects. I was primary designer, editor, and animator of the entire DVD release for a PBS kids host, a motion graphics designer and compositor for a few corporate videos, director/editor for a couple music videos, and videographer for bunches of gig videos.

My problem lies now in marketing my services to new clients. I have the references, the reel, and a tangible amount of experience considering, I need now a general direction to throw myself.

I'd like to focus on corporate promotions, motion graphics, signage, et cetera.

What do I (or anyone else for that matter) need to do? Who do I send materials to, who do I call, what can I expect?

Perhaps check out my reel and previous work to get an idea of what I have done?

Here is a collection of some of my work, the reel should be at the top.

And here is my excuse for a website.

Also, kind of unrelated but I would also still like to know how freelancers, designers, and agencies get those really big projects (Station Idents, MTV Spots, et cetera). Way out of my league, but still curious just the same.

Thanks everyone, your thoughts and feedback will be much appreciated!

-gRANT
originallgb.com
vimeo.com/originallgb

Return to posts index

Todd Terry
Re: Freelance in Chicago
on Feb 24, 2009 at 3:44:38 pm

You've been doing that less than a year??