BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Where do I go from here?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Evan JohnWhere do I go from here?
by on Feb 23, 2009 at 12:44:31 am

I am overwhelmed with anxiety and I feel utterly useless.

I have been searching for edit gigs (I am a video editor) through friends/collegues and production-job websites, and nothing is panning out. The post house I was editing at went under seven months ago, so I am now working two days a week doing work that is routine and not challenging. On top of this I am sinking into debt.

I question how I am supposed to make a living doing what I do. Work opportunities appear so illusory. I have had offers turn into nothing, or I am told be patient we will have something soon, or more frequently I do not get a response back (this is understandable when applying for jobs without a formal contact - still though, it's been seven months...).

I feel that I have an overwhelming amount of anger toward the fact that I put so much into what I do, and I am a very professional, talented, and capable young man - but nothing is happening. So I am demoralized, defeated, and resentful towards myself for my failure to get back on my feet.

So this leads to my question: If you have been in my shoes before, or can at least relate, what did you do to get out of a situation like this? I am by no means a veteran in my industry - I have been editing for two and half years. I have a website with my work. What else do I have to do to get myself noticed in NYC?

Return to posts index

Steve WargoRe: Where do I go from here?
by on Feb 23, 2009 at 1:00:38 am