BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Proving my capabilities to colleges?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Glenn Fisher
Proving my capabilities to colleges?
on Feb 21, 2009 at 7:25:43 pm

Hey COWers,

I'm a sophomore student in high school with a fair amount of video experience. I've focussed mostly on producing videos and CDs of my district's amazing music program (to get an example of the quality of my work, here is a link to the best video that I've recorded and edited so far).

I'm starting to look into colleges, especially those that offer a major in "cinematography/video production."

I will be taking an independent study next year in the fundamentals of audio in order to build up my strengths in audio recording.

What is the best way to show my strengths and the quality of my video and audio work to colleges? How can I prove my talents to college admissions officers (film festivals?)? How do you guys in the industry show your abilities and talents to prospective clients?

Thank you all!

Return to posts index

grinner hester
Re: Proving my capabilities to colleges?
on Feb 22, 2009 at 2:14:35 pm

Hi Glenn. Awesome stuff, man.
In the industry, we dazzle clients with short demo reels usually. You'll make the same to get jobs and gigs... less than 3 minutes of your best stuff. Consider this a teaser so they'll call you for an interview. Less is more. If you leave them wanting to see more, they will call you. If they turn it off before it's done, prolly not.
You won't need this for colleges. They require tuition. ;)