BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Loan or not to Loan?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Tim Tschudin
Loan or not to Loan?
on Jan 23, 2009 at 3:49:16 pm

I need some advice...I've been working in the TV broadcast industry for nearly 20 years now and last month fell victim to the economy and was layed off. Fortunately I have a little side video production business that I've been doing for about 10 years now. Through the years I have purchased various equiptment and software. And as of today, everything I own is paid for. However, there are some big ticket items I still need to purchase. So here is my question, should I take out a small business loan or keep trying to save from the small jobs that are coming in? The only draw-back to saving is I need some of the equiptment in order to do the jobs.
I welcome your input!
Regards,
Tim

Return to posts index

Ron Lindeboom
Re: Loan or not to Loan?
on Jan 23, 2009 at 6:16:39 pm

[Tim Tschudin] "...everything I own is paid for...there are some big ticket items I still need to purchase...should I take out a small business loan or keep trying to save from the small jobs that are coming in? The only draw-back to saving is I need some of the equiptment in order to do the jobs."

RENT.

Rent the equipment you need until the cashflow justifies the purchase.

If you are getting small jobs, the likelihood that they will be able to pay for the cost of ownership, is remote.

While renting costs more in the long run, if you use and return the stuff quickly enough and only as genuinely needed, it will be far more cost advantageous than trying to buy it under your circumstances.

We have survived bad markets and circumstances that would have destroyed most companies by following that advice.