BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Need advice from the more experienced

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Eric MunchNeed advice from the more experienced
by on Dec 19, 2008 at 3:15:27 pm

Hello CreativeCow! I've recently discovered this site and would like to thank everyone here for the wealth of valuable info! Now for my first post. Bear with me, it's a little long.

I am a freelance editor who has been working for the past couple of years for a small video production company. It's mainly documentary work (personal biographies, corporate histories, some web commercial work). Basically, we (I work with one other editor) get the raw interview tapes and any b-roll they may have (usually just photos and home video) and produce a 45-60min finished video. Everything is shot in HDV 1080i. We use for music and find any other necessary media online (a lot from or shoot it ourselves. Sometimes the interviews are shot with two cameras, one green screen. In addition we create a 3-5min "movie trailer", slideshow and all DVD menu designs.

We have all of our own gear and work out of my apartment.

They pay a flat $1000 per project. We get a 50% deposit when we deliver a first draft and then the remaining 50% after any revisions. A full project usually takes about a couple weeks, not including revisions.

When I started, I did not have a huge reel and had not been doing video for very long. I came from the audio side of things. I got to know an editor on an indie film I did a sound design job for, and interned with him for a year off and on learning FCP, After Effects, etc. When I started doing these bios I thought it was a great opportunity to get into video.

So now two years of full-time work later...