BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Documentary Market

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Wes WaddellDocumentary Market
by on Dec 15, 2008 at 7:16:14 pm

Ah the great wide world of filmmaking, the sky's the limit, or at least so it seems. Some time ago, (i think its been almost a year and a half) i was approached to edit a documentary. Seeing as i was a fourth quarter student i eagerly said yes and my life as i knew it disappeared. For the next year i secluded to my editing bay, working 18-20 hours days with school interspersed. Finally the day had come when we were exporting the finished piece, and making preparations for our big debut. Nothing could stop us from doing what we intended to do, which was to make a feature length documentary, and on top of that a successful one. At this point we (my-self, the director, and our third team member) had formed a production company (legit with the state and such) and had sunk more than $80,000 into this film, our baby. So needless to say we wanted a return on our investment. This is where things bottlenecked.

It just so happens that i live in a market with little if any "real" people. When i say "real" i mean people that know what they are talking about, people who have experience in the film industry, people to know. The lack of knowledgeable people left us few options so we looked to the west.

It took about two months to find a Rep that we could afford and that we felt comfortable handing the last steps of the production over to. This month marks the half-way point in our agreement with our rep. and its a little disappointing.