BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Marketing & Promotion for Beginning Video Artist

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jody WrightMarketing & Promotion for Beginning Video Artist
by on Dec 11, 2008 at 9:16:36 pm

Hi. I'm just beginning in video and am working with the tools I have trying to save up for the programs that could make my life "heaven"! I do have Adobe Illustrator/Photoshop & plan to purchase Adobe Creative Suite 4 Production Premium as soon as I can. Here's a sample link to what I'm doing:

("Renaissance Man", "Joanne Rafferty" the law office sample are the latest in the progression - hope it's showing!)

I have been a graphic artist and fine artist for my entire career. At 52, I'm making a career change to video. Since it's not likely that I can intern, etc. as someone who might do in their twenties (not fatalisitic, lol - just realistic), what do those who are very experienced think the best approach would be in proceeding?

Where would you suggest I begin, with the knowlege I have currently - in my own community? My plan is to produce the best work I can now and then build upon that as I can afford the software/equipment.

It's the "chicken and the egg". Need the work to get the software/equipment (and pay the bills) and need the software/equipment to get the work, lol.

Also, can you give me a range of prices (just ballpark) for what the type of work you see in these videos go for? I want to make sure I'm not undercharging for my time.

Thanks for your help!,
Jody Wright

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: Marketing & Promotion for Beginning Video Artist
by on Dec 11, 2008 at 11:54:40 pm

I liked your one art gallery commercial for Chasens, and it gave me the following thought.