BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

OT: Need advice on budget for tax write off

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Sebastian Alvarez
OT: Need advice on budget for tax write off
on Dec 6, 2008 at 6:19:15 pm

I recently worked on a video project for the non-profit organization I work for, however this project was not part of my daily job for them, but something on the side that I decided to donate because of the way the economy is in right now and the fact that money is more than tight in our local chapter. I will, however, make sure to write this off in my taxes come February, but because I'm not a professional in this area I have no idea how much should I charge for all the work that I did. Even though I work for them as permanent staff, since this is not not part of that I will refer to them as the customer.

I will type a description of my work here and if some of you could tell me what is normally charged, or what you would charge for something like this, I would greatly appreciate it. I have to present a form to the organization a copy of which will be included with my taxes. Following is the overall description of my work for this event.

This was a big concert at a local venue, and also two other minor ceremonies the day before. Among other things my work included:

- Brainstorming about the layout and source material for the different videos needed to promote the concert, and to be shown to the concert attendees

- An estimated 50 hours of editing in Vegas over a month from the first drafts, showing them to the client, applying corrections as requested and replacing new source material as it was given to me, until the final videos were turned in to the customer.