BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Changes to freelance law in NY?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Ed KulzerChanges to freelance law in NY?
by on Oct 25, 2008 at 8:21:36 pm

Til this past December, I was a staff editor at a popular NY post-house. Since, I've been freelancing at several post-houses, including the one that I used to staff at.

I was recently contacted by the head of that post-house, and was told that I needed to submit a W4 and an NYS IT-2104 to them, so that they could take out taxes on my freelance earnings. I am not incorporated, and the post-house had said that freelancers that they use who are incorporated do not have to go through this step. But for those few freelancers they use who are not incorporated, these tax forms need to be filled out.

My Spidey-sense got tingling when I noticed that all the tax forms specifically referred to employee status; and since none of the other post-houses I frequently freelance at have ever asked for anything like this.

Does my Spidey-sense have too sensitive a trigger-finger, or is this something to contact my tax attorney about?

Return to posts index

David Roth WeissRe: Changes to freelance law in NY?
by on Oct 25, 2008 at 10:18:02 pm

[Ed Kulzer] "Does my Spidey-sense have too sensitive a trigger-finger, or is this something to contact my tax attorney about?"

Yes, your Spidey-sense is a tad over-active. Both the Feds and Staties have, over the last eight years, shifted their focus from trying to collect taxes from rich tax avoiders, to collecting from middle class tax avoiders before it ever gets into their clammy little hands.