BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Freelancing, Confirmed Bookings, Holds, and Cancellation Fees

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Scott BartholomewFreelancing, Confirmed Bookings, Holds, and Cancellation Fees
by on Oct 22, 2008 at 8:40:21 pm

Hello Everyone,

I'm a freelance AE/C4D designer/animator in the bay area and have gotten into a sticky situation with a client and would love to hear some advice from other freelancers as well as studio owners and producers .

I was recently booked on a 3d medical animation project that has been canceled half way through due to client concerns that were out of both of our control. In general terms the start up company client of the studio turned out to have bad credit and the studio decided not to follow through with the project fearing they would never get paid. This sort of thing happens and I completely understand the studio's situation.

When I first agreed to do the project I had a second studio willing to book me for the week and so I asked the studio in question to confirm my time for the week and let them no that if they couldn't guarantee me work for the week that I would need to take the other guaranteed booking. They said that they would book me for the week and that even if this job fell through that they would be able to put me on another project. Based on his promise, I let the other studio know I was booked and turned down their alternate offer for work.