BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

A new challenge

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Tom Mathews
A new challenge
on Oct 1, 2008 at 8:48:48 pm

Hi all,

I hope you are all well. I was hoping to gather some advice from those of you living and working in the states (especially on the west coast). I've been a freelance Avid editor here in London for 10 years, working all that time in prime time broadcasting. I've got a great client base that leaves me booked up as much as I want to be, but I'm looking for a new challenge.

I know of a few British editors who have been cutting some of the big entertainment/reality shows made in LA and I've made enquiries into doing this myself, but I wanted to get some idea about rates first. What's the average weekly freelance rate for an Avid cutter on these kind of shows? I have a young family and just wanted to check that wages are comparative to here in the UK, where my weekly average is about £1600 for offline work (based on a 50 hour week).

Any advice would be most welcome.

Kind regards,

Tom

Return to posts index

Shane Ross
Re: A new challenge
on Oct 1, 2008 at 10:08:12 pm

Dunno what the pound to dollar conversion is, but the Union scale here is about $2500 a week for a 50 hour work week. $2564 to be exact (looking at my rate card). That is the base scale. It can go up or down based on the budged (yes, there are lower rates for some cable shows) and skill level...union or non-union. I have seen editors command $5,000 a week, and others getting $1500. But $2500 is the happy medium here in LA.

Shane

GETTING ORGANIZED WITH FINAL CUT PRO DVD...don't miss it.
Read my blog, Little Frog in High Def

Return to posts index

Tom Mathews
on Oct 1, 2008 at 10:15:25 pm

Thanks for the response. Dollar to Pound wise £1600 is about $2830, but living in London is very expensive so probably doesn't go as far.