BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Need some help negotiating

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Joel MaysonetNeed some help negotiating
by on Sep 17, 2008 at 3:38:33 am

Hi everybody,

First post ever on this forum. My respects and appreciation for everyone here who takes the time to maintain these forums alive with useful information.

I'm in the middle of negotiating a work opportunity with a production company. I'm a motion graphics artist and editor with a full time position on a local TV station in Texas, but want to venture into production houses. I'm in the middle of negotiating a work opportunity with a production company that says cannot offer me a full time position (it's a young company) but are willing to work out a business plan with me. They mentioned two things that are a bit confusing to me (since I don't know the freelancing world too much). 1) They said they want to represent me. How does representation works in the post industry? Do production companies usually do the "representing" or are there agencies who usually do that? I undestand the basics of representation (they get 'x' amount of the money I make) but that's pretty much it. What should I be aware of? Can someone guide me in the right direction?

2) Since I told them I that in order to leave my current job I need some economical security, they suggested a to offer a monthly retainment fee plus the money from incoming work they get. Apparently they do that with other members of their staff. This is where it gets even trickier for me since I don't know how this works, what a retainment fee should be like, or how those contracts are set up.