BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Apartment Applications and Freelancers

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Kim HustonApartment Applications and Freelancers
by on Aug 16, 2008 at 4:26:40 pm

I am new to New York and have started the process of finding and applying for an apartment (I was staying with a friend before). I work as a freelance Assistant Editor around town and so I'm stumped as to what to fill in for the Proof of Employment section.
I don't have one employer, I work for 3 different companies off and on. The application is asking for employer, work number, super visor, employed since... All stuff I don't have a typical or in some cases ANY answer for.

What do I put there? Choose the company I work for most and hope they don't really call my "supervisor" that I don't really have. (At the company I work for most, the person who generally calls me is the front desk guy, and then I talk to different producers from there.)
I don't want to lose out on the apartment because I have a slightly irregular work history.

Return to posts index

David Roth WeissRe: Apartment Applications and Freelancers
by on Aug 16, 2008 at 7:09:34 pm

[Kim Huston] "I work as a freelance Assistant Editor around town and so I'm stumped as to what to fill in for the Proof of Employment section."

You're a freelance editor Kim, so that makes it very simple. As the employer you write "self." Being self-employed is not a detriment in most cases, so don't feel bad about it.

You'll need to show prospective landlords that you have some money in a bank account, clean credit, no criminal record, and you need to be able to pay 1st and last month's rent.

David Roth Weiss
Director/Editor
David Weiss Productions, Inc.
Los Angeles

POST-PRODUCTION WITHOUT THE USUAL INSANITY ™