BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Event Videographer emailing Coordinators for new business/leads

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Beau BrothertonEvent Videographer emailing Coordinators for new business/leads
by on Jul 28, 2008 at 4:12:12 pm

Hello to all,

I posted pretty much this same post in the Event forum, but I wanted to be able to get more help since this forum gets much more traffic. I am a wedding videographer (I know that everyone's favorite). And I am wanting to get more exposure and I read a post a couple of weeks ago about cold calling/emailing clients to get more business. So this email is a spin off of that former post.

I just finished my website (just plan Jane) and I am wanting to contact the wedding planners/coordinators in my area. I am curious of how to best word the email.

The obvious thing that I would want to get out of this email campaign is of course to spread my name out there, generate some leads, and yes, get more business to lead to more money. Now, I read the post a couple weeks ago on the Business/Marketing forum, and a company wrote about how if you are going to do this, you need to concentrate on:

Not what the Planner/Coordinators (ie production company, ad agency, etc) can do for me (wedding videographer, or freelance editor, etc)

But focus more on how I can help to improve how the Planners do their business. And this is what I want this email to be about. How I can help Planners solve some problems that they are running into.

My company has just finished its first year and we have done about 5 weddings. I got a long term freelance editing gig that helped me pay bills for a year, but took away my time from my wedding videography. But I feel like I have some good demos that show my experience and style.