BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Business Help for 17 year old

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Trevor Neumann
Business Help for 17 year old
on Jun 12, 2008 at 8:05:41 am

Hello all!
I look forward to being part of this great community.

I am looking for some advice from of some of the experienced business men from this community in order to help me break through in the video editing industry.

In reality working with visual effects would be a dream career. I have been working with Adobe After Effects profusely for the last 2 years. I have become pretty good and I look forward to excelling with it. But I am hear to obtain advice on how to get into the video editing/visual FX career when starting from scratch. I have not done any serious works, but I want to start. Please give me advice you have picked up over time, and help me.

Thanks in advance,
Trevor

Return to posts index

Mark Suszko
Re: Business Help for 17 year old
on Jun 12, 2008 at 3:54:45 pm

My standard advice is to build a reel of spec and pro-bono work for charities or causes you support, or those supported by the people you want to work for. Then take that reel to those people you want to work for and ask for an interview, or at least a facility tour. Beginners typically get jobs on the night shift and weekends, doing the scutwork like supervisng imports, preparing and loading elements in advance for the staff editor, long, boring roto work, and babysitting renders, that sort of thing.

You might also join a site like ifreelance.com. There are others like it out there too. It lets you post samples of your work and bid on small jobs for people all over the world, (which works great for you as you can FTP your finished work anywhere) as well as recieve invitations to bid on projects.