BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

residuals for editors?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
yoni goldstein
residuals for editors?
on May 16, 2008 at 3:26:02 pm

hello,

I am a new editor and I'm about to begin a documentary project that has strong potential to be marketed and distributed (possibly to HBO). I have worked only on nonprofit projects up until now.

The director and I are about to draft a contract. We have already agreed upon a rate that I am happy with, but he also wants to know what I want in terms of residuals.

What is a standard/reasonable rate for residuals for editors? I will have a co-editor working with me as well.

Thank you

Return to posts index

Bruce Bennett
Re: residuals for editors?
on May 16, 2008 at 5:31:15 pm

Hi Yoni,

My opinions…

I’m not aware of any fully paid editors receiving residuals for projects. My experience is that they are vastly “work for hire” team members. I wonder why he is. This would be a “work for hire” and you would not have any copyright ownership. (This is a big discussion topic on this board. I believe that “the act” of being hired constitutes a “work for hire agreement” even without a signed document. See http://www.copyright.gov).

I would suggest splitting up the residuals almost evenly to all major production team members (i.e., Executive Producer, Producer, Writer, Director, Cinematographer/Videographer, Editor). (If your Co-Editor wants some, then I think that should come out of your piece of the cake). I say “almost evenly” because the Executive Producer is the one who will probably take on the most risk and will also be the one who takes on the “final responsibility” of the project.