BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Post Business

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Richard CardonnaPost Business
by on Apr 28, 2008 at 7:00:34 pm

I want to setup a service where i rent the editing suite by the day and the producers bring in there editor of choice.

(I am a producer/editor with exp in liquid.vegas and Premier (mostly my own projects for cable and events)
I don't want to edit for anybodey else just my projects and maybe some shooting.

If you wanted to serve local independant film and video producers where budgets rarely go over 1 million, usually in the $300 to $8ook and many in the sub $150K Most of the work is done in dv-hdv and some hd.

I am thinking of about $1500 for all a week mayabe offering fcp/adobe or avid mc

What set up would give the best bang for the buck. ( the market is not in the top 20)

Thanks for your input

RC

Return to posts index

David Roth WeissRe: Post Business
by on Apr 29, 2008 at 3:31:56 am

Richard,

Although many will strenuously argue the merits of one platform or editing system over another, few can deny that FCP is the NLE that generates the most demand by paying customers these days. Avid may command more per hour than FCP, but it can't compete in any market any longer with the sheer numbers of potential users and clients demanding FCP. And, while Premiere has a huge user base, larger even than FCP, it simply doesn't draw paying clients to facilities.

Now, as to investing in an edit bay and hoping it will generate outside traffic when you're not using it yourself... That's a whole different issue. I would say that, while it's possible the concept can work, in most instances it usually doesn't. You might be able to get the occasional customer, but if you're hoping to cover your overhead month in and month out, you probably won't get close.