BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

I don't know what to charge

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Rob GrauertI don't know what to charge
by on Apr 18, 2008 at 11:50:53 pm

So I'm only 21 and I've been doing work for people for free now. Mainly I've been editing basketball for this guy. I also have some other experience with others and I've learned a lot on my own.

I want to start charging people. I feel I'm quite knowledgeable in Final Cut, fixing audio in Soundtrack Pro, I can make graphics with Illustrator, Photoshop and Motion or After Effects, I can do some color correction in Color, although I'm not a pro at it yet, and I know how to author DVDs in DVD Studio Pro. I have a pretty good understanding with compression as well, incase they want their video on the internet. I'm also a pretty decent shooter.

I don't know about you, but I think I sound pretty well-rounded. I don't know what to charge people. I know it varies from project to project. What are some things to think about besides just how long it takes.

Here is a sample of my work if clears up any thoughts on my skill level.

http://exposureroom.com/members/robgrauert.aspx/assets/b4c5e818ad1647e9bf97...

http://exposureroom.com/members/robgrauert.aspx/assets/2f2680d996b54a7f9950...

Return to posts index

Bill DewaldRe: I don't know what to charge
by on Apr 19, 2008 at 2:49:29 am

This sort of question has been answered a lot here (search words like "rates" and "charge" in this forum), and there are a lot of people on this forum with a lot more experience and business sense than I have, but I give you my two cents...

If you're in business, the question "what am I worth" depends as much on your clients as it does on your skills. What problem will your video solve for your client? What is that worth to him or her?